Author Topic: Spatchcock  (Read 1256 times)

Offline MadBob

Spatchcock
« on: July 12, 2015, 08:05:35 AM »
To Spatchcock or not.

A long time ago in a land far, far away (SoCal to be exact), I was enlightened to a recipe for a chicken that was "spatchcocked".

Now, me being the complete novice, I went to my local Stater Bros. Grocery and hit up the Butcher and asked for a spatchcocked chicken. "What the ?" he replied. So, I told him what I wanted. Begrudgingly he proceeded to comply with my request.

All these years I have never spatchcocked another chicken. Now, I have come across "the rest of the story". What I had requested back then was a deboned chicken. Still, cooking time was greatly reduced, not too dry (for a rookie) and still pretty tasty.

Just this morning I was viewing recent episodes from the BBQ Pit Boys and came across a "spatchcocked chicken" recipe.
Hmmm, all you do is cut out the backbone, it lays flat, some indirect heat and voila!

http://bbqpitboys.com/recipes/spatchcock-grilled-chicken#.VaJkZ19VhHw

So, further investigation revealed the same: "cut out the backbone"....

But in case anyone is interested in deboning a chicken, and making a "stuffed chicken bun"  (from Scott Rea) this could be interesting!  Just sayin.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MBYdoSMk1Y
Have you ever listened to someone for a while and wondered, who ties your shoelaces?

You can't do epic shit with basic people.

Beer is why I get up every afternoon.

Offline robertl

Re: Spatchcock
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2015, 10:43:57 AM »