Author Topic: Cooking with your SO  (Read 6195 times)

Loundry

Cooking with your SO
« on: December 23, 2009, 12:35:33 PM »
I love to cook with my partner.  We divide up the labor pretty evenly, that is to say, prep, cooking, and cleaning.  Primo and wok duty usually fall to me, since I'm the one using the outdoor kitchen.  He makes grits, and I make tortillas, which is funny considering that my background is Southern and grits were my comfort food, whereas his background is half New Mexican and tortillas are his comfort food.  I fare better at details, whereas he is better at seeing the bigger picture.  In other words, we complement each other in the kitchen and cooking together is something that we don't merely do to feed us and to feed our curiosity about food, but also as something we can do as a team.  That is, until the arthritis kicks in.  I wonder if other couples function similarly.

Offline Larkemon

• Email
Re: Cooking with your SO
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2009, 12:44:02 PM »
Unfortunately, things aren't as smooth at our house. Usually, it's one parent making sure the two kids don't destroy everything while the other tries to put together something as fast as possible! :)

Offline A_Russian_Cook

• American recipes with a Russian twist!
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2009, 01:04:40 PM »
I usually do most of the cooking at my house. My hubby does the dishes however. It's a win-win situation  ;D
-------------------------------------------
Join my blog - http://marinasrecipebox.wordpress.com

Offline The_Scientist

• $750 as is, you pay the towing
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2009, 01:21:10 PM »
Like ARC our division of labor is simple and straightforward.  FG cooks, I clean.  She is far beyond me in culinary skills, and she will be the first to admit that housekeeping isn't her thing, while I am pretty fastidious and hate having dirty dishes sit around as an open invitation to the ants and various other critters in the wilds of Marietta.